Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing color of selected points in PoinSet

Hello,

I am really new to Open Inventor and working on my first project. At the moment I am rendering a colored PointSet.

Code:
        int PointArrayLength = 100;
        SoSeparator* Scan = new SoSeparator();

SbVec3f* coords = ...; // Array of coordinates
        SbColor* vertexColor = ...; // Array of colors

// Add colors to vertices
        SoMaterial* colors = new SoMaterial();
        colors->diffuseColor.setValues(0, PointArrayLength, vertexColor);

SoVertexProperty* pVProp = new SoVertexProperty();
        pVProp->vertex.setValues(0, PointArrayLength, coords);

SoMaterialBinding *matBind = new SoMaterialBinding;
        matBind->value = SoMaterialBinding::PER_VERTEX;

SoPointSet* pointSet = new SoPointSet();
        pointSet->vertexProperty = pVProp;

Scan->addChild(colors);
        Scan->addChild(matBind);
        Scan->addChild(pointSet);
    Now I try to change the color of a subset of the PointSet. To do this I added a SoExtSelection Node to select the points. Now I want to set a new color to the selected points.
    Can anybody give me a hint how to proceed?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Hi,
    Unfortunately, the first problem is that SoExtSelection is only designed to select shape nodes. It can tell you if some part of the PointSet is inside the "lasso", but it cannot currently tell you which individual points in the set were inside the lasso. It is possible to do this using other Open Inventor classes. Although it's straightforward for a PointSet, it's not quite trivial. :-)
    1. Create an SoScreenDrawer, for example SoRectangleScreenDrawer, to allow the user select a region in the window.
      See example code fragment in SoPolylineScreenDrawer.
      When the user has selected a region (screen drawer's onFinish callback is called)...
    2. Get the screen space coordinates of the selected region from the screen drawer.